Skip to content

Writing Change, Writing Inclusion

2022 Writing Fellowships

Our signature writing fellowship for those who identify as First Nations and/or a Person of Colour (FNPOC).

Applications open Monday 14 March 2022 and close at 11.59pm on Saturday 23 April 2022.

Open to emerging Western Australian writers who identify First Nations and/or Person of Colour (FNPOC), the 2022 Centre for Stories Writing Fellowships offers six writers the opportunity to work on a manuscript of fiction, non-fiction or poetry. This 12-month program provides a $10,000 stipend, an optional desk space at Centre for Stories, intensive editorial support, mentoring support, and professional networking opportunities.

The writing fellowships contribute to the Centre for Stories Writing Change, Writing Inclusion program, which has already involved 12 long-term mentorships and over 15 hot desk fellowships.

Please read the Centre for Stories Writing Fellowship Guidelines 2022. Please note that eligible applicants must have up to date COVID-19 vaccination certificates (or valid medical exemption) in accordance with the Western Australian Government.

Please email [email protected] for any questions.

The 2022 Centre for Stories Writing Fellowships are generously supported by The Ian Potter Foundation, Centre for Stories Founders’ Circle, and Australia Council for the Arts.

2022 Winners Announced

  • Alexander Te Pohe

    Manuscript of Adult Fantasy

  • 1

    Ana Brawls

    Manuscript of Literary Fiction

  • Casey Mulder

    Manuscript of Memoir

  • Melanie Hobbs

    Manuscript of Short Stories

  • Taya Reid

    Manuscript of Literary Fiction

  • 1

    Kaya Ortiz

    Manuscript of Poetry

Back to Top